Beaches, Ghosts and Dead Jellyfish

April 5, 2011 at 12:36 am | Posted in personal | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

We’re back from our spring break and I’m feeling refreshed and recharged.  We had the best time and it was the first time in years that we were able to go on a family vacation that wasn’t a combined working vacation for my husband.

The only item on our agenda was relaxation and I’m happy to report we got an A+!  After my husband wrapped up some work last week we hopped in the car and drove for almost 12 hours to Hilton Head Island.

We stayed in an apartment/condo right on the beach.  We were 60 steps from the water (yes Sloan and Drew counted).  The weather was a little chilly for Hilton Head but it was still 20 degrees warmer then Indianapolis.  Luckily it only rained one day and the rest of the time we enjoyed walking on the beach and soaking in the sun.

(The walkway from our condo to the Atlantic Ocean)

(My idea of bliss. I enjoyed long walks by myself every afternoon, well Pearl Jam kept me company.)

 

(Just one of 100’s of dead jellyfish along the Atlantic Ocean.  Note to self, never swim in the Atlantic Ocean.)

 

After we were done exploring Hilton Head Island we decided to take the 45 minute trip to Savannah, GA and I’m so glad we did.  Drew and Sloan even convinced me to go on a ghost tour.  Truth be told I’m not a big fan of tours and looking like a huge tourists but I’m so glad that we did.  The tour showed all the areas that were thought to be haunted and as interested as it was I was most interested in the absolutely beautiful architecture.  While Drew and Sloan were searching for orbs of light I was busy peeking into the windows of the houses! (You know you do it too!)

 

We did a little shopping.  Savannah definitely gives off a boho vibe, probably because of the Savannah Art & Design University.

Oh Mr. Jacobs you always make me smile!  How awesome is this pink elephant!

The Paris Market was by far my favorite shop in Savannah.  I took a million photos for my inspiration files.

Sloan loved the bohemian bedroom and I’m hoping to incorporate some of these ideas to her room.

 

We explored the riverwalk.

To get to the riverwalk you had to go up these stairs, it was a riot because they were not even close to being to code.  They must not of gotten the code book in the 1800’s!

I loved the moss on the trees!

 

This gate makes me swoon!  The architecture in Savannah is absolutely incredible!

 

The town is so rich in it’s history.

 

My best girl and I (ok I’m looking a little tired) enjoying some downtime before a yummy lunch!

 

As fun as our vacation was I’m glad to be back home and I have a new appreciation for our big house.  For years I’ve boasted I could easily live in a 500 sq ft apartment, well after living in a 550 sq foot apartment with 2 other people I’m admitting I can only do it for a week!

I’m glad to be back to House to your Home and will be answering everyone’s emails as soon as I can!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the army brought us here to savannah last november and when i found Paris market i just about DIED!!!! i LOVE love love that store! so glad you had fun in savannah/HHI

    • I’m so glad to have someone share in my love for that store, it’s awesome and so was savannah!!

  2. Wow! Love the bohemian bedroom!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

