Decorating the Fireplace Mantel

March 10, 2011 at 3:38 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Once the messy construction is done when doing a project the fun part of decorating is next.  I thought about the design of the mantel for quite awhile and wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do.  Do I do a symmetrical or asymmetrical design?  How about both?  I’m a big believer that the rules of design are made to be broken!

First up was the symmetry part of the design.  Symmetry means a mirror image — one side is the mirror image of the other.  The lamps are both the same and if you were to fold the photo in half the lamps would come together.

Of course the lamps had a makeover, they were sprayed bronze to match the mirror.  But just because those elements in the room are the same don’t be surprised when you see the room reveal to learn that I used different types of metals in my design.  I really like the idea of mixing metals.

(The lamps before)

Now onto the asymmetrical part of the design.  Asymmetry means without symmetry. (Duh right?)   The term describes a kind of balance that does not rely on symmetry: so there is no mirror image.  There is no simple formula for achieving balance in asymmetrical balance (hence the term informal balance) so you must get a sense of whether or not the composition is balanced. This is where your sense of balance really comes into play.

The composition either looks like it is balance or it does not. Where does your attention goes when you look at an image?  In this instance your eye starts low and moves up, as shown in the photo below.  If it seems to wander around more or less evenly, there is probably balance, so as you can see there is balance in this asymmetrical design.

Once again books were used in my design, I really can’t get enough of them and I also used some of my silver, I added a little life to the composition by using an orchid and then the dog used in the design was my Granny Kaye’s and has traveled from family member to family member.  (Sorry folks, it’s staying here!)

So that’s it for the fireplace.  I’m off to do some painting and some blind installing!

If you have any questions please feel free to email me at laurie@housetoyourhome.com.

If you need some design help or a moodboard designed please click here to get started!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely, simply lovely. May I make one teeny recommendation? I think if you raise the mirrror just a tad it would help show the entire mirror and you could see the items below the mirror a bit better. Just my perception of course.

    • I thought the very same thing! Just waiting for the hubby to get home so he can help me, I originally hung it while he was gone.

  2. Love the room…and of course, Lilly is the best accessory!

  3. good luck with the new look in July… :))))
    AND thank you for your sweet comment – made me SMILE 🙂
    God bless you..

  4. Are the lamps on sitting on top of the outlets? I’m asking because I don’t see any plugs sticking up or maybe the books are covering them up?

    • No there is an outlet in the middle of the fireplace, the outlet is actually inside the mantel and I used cord covers to hide the lamp cords! Good eye Maryann! (;


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

