Using Malachite in Interior Design

March 3, 2011 at 11:07 pm | Posted in accessories, interior design | 3 Comments
Tags:

Malachite is a very popular semi-precious stone. It is named for the Greek word “mallow” which is a green herb. Its banded light and dark green designs are one-of-a-kind, and give it a unique ornamental quality unlike that of any other stone. The light and dark green bands are so distinctive that malachite maybe one of the most easily recognized minerals by the general public. A popular design of ceramic ware which imitates this banding is named after the mineral malachite. It forms the banding from subtle changes in the oxidation states of the surrounding pore waters, but the exact mechanism is still not well understood.

So that’s the definition of malachite, below are some examples of using this stone in your home. All I know, is I want some malachite somewhere in my house! So beautiful!!

Oh and I’m totally aware that my design style is all over the place! Is there anything I don’t love!?

(Wallpaper)

(Domicile)

If you have any questions please feel free to email me at laurie@housetoyourhome.com.

If you need some design help or a moodboard designed please click here to get started!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I.love.that.chair.

    This is so not my design style, if you can call what I have “design style”, but that chair is fabulous! 🙂

    • We all have design style regardless of what it is and you’re right that chair is killer!!

  2. I love that chair and those pillows. Very pretty.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

