The Guest Room

February 8, 2011 at 5:33 am | Posted in bedroom | 61 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today, I thought I’d post photos of our guest room. Of course I still have a few things (I gave up on making pillows and am having them made and maybe I’ll add some more trim, if that’s possible!) to tweak but for the most part it’s done. I’m going to cover the guest room over the next couple of days because if I didn’t this post would be way too long so keep checking back this week. There’s alot of photos so stay with me!!

When we moved into our house last spring the basement was unfinished so I had a blank canvas to work with. I’m not sure why but blank canvases are harder for me then when I’m given a room that I have to solve problems like a funny ceiling or funky window. Does that make sense?

Bear with the photos, the room is small and it’s a bit hard to get a good photo but this was obviously taken after the drywall was up. What a mess that was, I think I’m still sweeping up dust!

Another photo of the drywall, the door leads to a decent size walk-in closet.

The walls have been painted and the floor has been put down. See the drywall dust? Underneath that dust was the best flooring decision I ever made for a basement!

Gotta install a chandelier in the guest room right? The beds were put in the room because I was anxious to see how I’d arrange the room. As I’ve mentioned many times before I don’t have a lot of patience!

 

Here is the room now!

The inspiration for the room were the butterfly prints above the bed. I wanted pops of color and splashes of gold. I also wanted to mix modern with traditional by using a fun rug and neutral bedding with trim that I attached. As I’ve mentioned above I’m having some pillows made and when they are done I’ll replace the off-white pillows that are there now. For now they’ll do. I also might apply some black trim to the lamp to make it pop a bit more. It sorta fades into the walls right now. (Another reason it’s a great idea to take photos of a finished room!)

 

This is a chair that I bought at a thrift store and recovered using some left over fabric that I used to make the window treatments.

 

 

Here is a photo of the east wall. The dresser used to be white and was used in my daughter’s room when she was a baby. (She’s 12!) I painted it black and added new knobs. The black table is a garage sale find and I keep lots of magazines there for guest to read when they come to visit.

 

 

A close up of the dresser, a red lamp with an ornament strung around it, an elephant found from a garage sale (I love elephants) and an alarm clock. I know most people use their phones now as an alarm clock but I still think it’s a good idea to have one for guest. The butterflies are from the Goodwill.

 

 

Another close up of the dresser.

 

 

You can see the window treatments in this photo. They’re pretty simple. Then of course there is my signature wood bamboo shades! I added read beads and shades to the chandelier. If you look close you’ll see inside the shades is lined in gold to play off of the gold frames in the butterfly prints.

 

 

The prints are from a botanical book my Granny Kaye gave me years ago. I simply bought some frames from Ikea and used a navy matting.

 

 

The room is a funny shape and it needed something on this wall but it was far too narrow for a dresser. The solution a shelf.

 

 

The shelf works for a few reasons, one it adds something to the space so it doesn’t look so empty but it also serves as a makeup area for guests who are staying over!

Notice another elephant in the room! Remember to use like items in a room!

 

Once more the before and after!

 

Please come back tomorrow where I will show you my resource list for the room so you know where I bought the items, flooring, lighting and paint color. I will also be posting on what makes a guest room comfortable and inviting!

Below are some more links to how this room came together, I hope you’ll check them out!

Part II Fixing the Dresser Wall

Guest Room Part #3 and Design Resource List

61 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When can I move in?

  2. that looks fantastic-great job! love the combo with the rug and the bedding, and that shelf!

  3. Oh wow! You did an amazing job! I totally get what ya mean about a blank slate. Lovin’ the black bedding!

    • I’m so glad you get my way of thinking! Sometimes I think no one does!! Thanks for stopping by Haley!!

  4. The room looks great! Love those navy mats and the twin beds.

    -Rene

  5. Wow impressive job!

  6. […] back tomorrow when I give the details of my guest room!  If you have any questions you’d like answered on the room please feel free to send me an […]

  7. Love the look, it is very classic!

  8. I really like how you updated the dresser and the rug is what makes the room. The tailored but fun look of your room is so nice that I know your guests will love staying there.

    • Thanks Shannon for the very nice and thoughtful comment!!

  9. Fabulous makeover! Love the beds!

  10. Laurie, what a beautiful makeover. I lOOOOVE it =D

  11. that turned out amazing. I love that flooring too. In our old house we had real hard wood. How I miss not having it! Great choice. Everything looks amazing! Thanks for sharing over at Tuesday Tell All.

  12. It looks absolutely amazing! And I {almost} got that rug at Target today, love it! Thank you for linking up, but that is actually a Ten on Tuesday link party, where you write a list of 10 favorites or 10 random things. But I would love for you to come link this to the Saturday Swagger linky party on Saturday. 🙂

    • Oh gosh, I’m sorry, if you want to delete my post I’ll come by on Saturday! Thanks Kim!!

  13. Turned out great! Thanks for linking up over at Giggles, Glitz & Glam!

    Be sure to check out this excellent giveaway: http://www.tinyurl.com/froggygirl

  14. What a wonderful room – very stylish. I really like the color scheme. I know what you mean about the difficulties of dealing with a “blank canvas”. I think it’s because there are so many choices to make that it sometimes just confuses the issue.

    Thanks for linking to the party.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottag.blogspot.com/

  15. Amazing! I love how it’s so glamorous and stylish!!!

  16. Ooh. I love that graphic rug. The little elephants add a little whimsy, too. Darling room!

  17. Love it!! I think my favorites are your Granny Kaye’s prints (nothing better than a room with some sentimental pieces) and the FABULOUS idea to make the shelf a vanity for your guests. FUN! Hugs from Texas, tara

  18. Love the pops of red. I love the aesthetics of two twin beds versus one double. Gorgeous room, thanks for sharing.

  19. Wow that looks so great! I love the light fixture!

    We’d love to have you link up at our party!

    http://breadandbutter143.blogspot.com/2011/02/look-what-we-found.html

  20. What a great room! I love the way it turned out. Thanks for linking up to Home and Family Friday!

    Becca

  21. What a great room makeover! And I love the elephants 🙂

  22. I LOVE rooms with 2 twin beds! This is beautiful.

    • I love 2 beds too! It works nice because sometimes we have guests that don’t want to sleep together! It also works great when my daughter is having sleep overs!

  23. Love your guest room, great transformation!

  24. I just stopped over from Show and Tell Friday. You did a great job! The black and white with the pops of red are perfect. I’m looking for inspiration in re-doing my guest room. Thank you!

  25. You have a very beautiful guest room, every guest will enjoy their stay there very much! Great job

  26. Love it!! Thanks so much for linking! Any guest would be happy to stay there!

  27. I just love every detail in this room. Thanks for sharing.
    Also, love your pictures of your foyer!
    ~Pam

    • Thank you Pam for stopping by and looking at my foyer too!!

  28. Lovely transformation!!

  29. I realy like the finished look, you did a great job.

  30. I have go through all the pictures as it was ultimate ideas to decorate as am mad for interior if possible be in touch or i want all the updates from your site…

    Thanks

  31. […] Most Popular Post Campaigner FurnitureThe Guest RoomHappy Valentine's DaySave it Don't Toss […]

  32. Gorgeous! That room went from 0 – 10! It looks very homey. Way to go!

    • Not sure it’s a 10 but I’m still working on it, make sure you come back to see how I tweak the room!! Thanks Christine!!!

  33. This is beautiful! I just love it! I am bookmarking this for future plans! Thanks for sharing at Fantastic Friday. I hope that you will join us again next week!

    • Thanks so much Jen! I appreciate you stopping by too!!

  34. Great transformation! I love the modern vibe with the rug. So nice!

    I shared it on my TT&J Facebook page and linked to you 🙂 \

    xoxo
    Jen

    • Thanks Jen, I really appreciate the shout out from you!!!

  35. Nice job! I almost did the twin bed in my guest room but the bathroom would have been too close to the left hand side bed…
    Not very functional for me 😦
    Looks great in yours though… :))))))))))

    • Function always gets in the way of what we want doesn’t it!! Hope you come back soon, the guest room is being “tweaked” as we speak!!

  36. Thank you so much for sharing this project with us over at Sister Sister! What a makeover, I love everything you put together, you have a great eye for detail!

    • Thanks Amanda, apparently my eye for detail is off on this one, I’ve already changed a few things since posting this!! (; Thanks for stopping by!!

  37. love it! where did you get the starburst mirror??

    • I got it a few years ago at a local store in Indy called Silver in the City, it was oil bronze but I sprayed it black.

  38. Just wanted to let you know I featured this today on FTF! Thanks for linking and grab a Featured button if you would like!

  39. ohmygosh love it!

  40. Love the red accents in the room!

  41. Very nice room! My favorite thing I think is your Granny’s art prints. May I ask the dimensions of the room? I have a few smaller spaces in my home & I am always curious as to how different people make use of smaller spaces.

    • Hi Nicole! The room is pretty small about 10 x 10. I think my Granny Kaye’s prints are my favorite too!! We have lots in common I think because I’m a big fan of a small space too, it’s my favorite space to organize!

  42. The room looks beautiful, warm and inviting. Nice decorative flair! Curious to know the size of the room?
    Joan

  43. Sorry just saw the last comment on the size of the room.
    Thank you,
    Joan


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

