The Fireplace

February 5, 2011 at 3:06 am | Posted in fireplace, living room | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Here is the current state of our fireplace.

I like to refer to it as the black hole, or just ugly! Blech!

The fireplace is one of the many things on the to-do list.  I think we’re going to Home Depot to order the stacked stone this weekend.  Unfortunately, it’s going to take 3 weeks to come in.  Boo!  (You all know how much I like instant gratification!)

The materials I have in mind to use for the project is paneling for the top like the photo below.

I want it to be a bit simpler though, I want to use paneling but I want the molding to just be around the perimeter of the wall so that I can chose a piece of artwork or mirror for the middle.

(Possible Mirror for Fireplace)


The other material we’ll be using is stack stone.

I like the idea of paneling and stacked stone together, sorta polished meets rock and roll.

Here is the drawing I’m giving to our contractor.  Hopefully he won’t laugh at it!  It really stinks as an interior designer I’m so horrible at drawing!

On the sides of the fireplace where the windows are I want to put in some storage but I won’t be making them into window seats, with our living room configuration it just wouldn’t look right but I like the idea of the built ins, it ties the look together and gives it a more finished look.

More updates to come…(hopefully soon!)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow. They really left you a blank canvas to work with. I love your design and think it will look fab!

  2. Can’t wait to see what you come up with! I love all the inspiration pics. Also, I’m not sure where you found that mirror but they have one almost identical at Hobby Lobby for 50% off. I can’t remember exactly how much it was but if you have one near you you may want to check it out!

    • See were going to start freaking each other out, because I bought that very mirror (from Hobby Lobby) last Friday!! Thanks for stopping by!!

  3. I can’t wait to see the finished fireplace. I know you’ll make it beautiful.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

