Oh Suzani!!

January 19, 2011 at 5:08 am | Posted in fabric and patterns | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

Last night I couldn’t fall asleep so I got online which is never good thing because it always sucks me in for hours and does nothing to help me fall asleep.  Even though I’m currently working on my office I was doing research on my living room, I’ve told you all many, many times I have design ADD!  I can never concentrate on one thing at a time.  So after one click and then another I ended up honing in on a particular fabric that’s been quite popular for years but I still love it as much as the first time I saw it.

Suzani is a emobroidered and decorative fabric made in Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and various other Central Asian countries.  The word suzani means needle.

(City Sage)

 

The base of the fabric is usually cotton but also silk.  They are usually made in 2 or more pieces and are stitched together.

Decor 8

 

What usually comes to mind when you hear the word suzani are suns, moons, flowers, leaves, vines and fruits.

 

(Decor Pad)

 

Alot of design snobs say they are tired of seeing suzani and ikat (I’m not one of them) but the suzani fabric  have been around since the 18th century and some say even the 15th century.  They were traditionally used by Asian brides as part of their dowry and with that said, I must point out although the fabric is popular it’s not a fad and I consider timeless. (There is a difference.)

 

 

 

 

(Domino)

 

(Elle Decor)

 

(Elle Decor)

 

(House Beautiful)

 

(Kathryn Ireland)

 

(Domino)

 

 

 

So your thoughts, love suzani, hate it, fad or timeless??

 

 

 

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your posts are always so interesting. I stumbled on your site a few months ago & it’s just wonderful. This entry encouraged me to write to you as I love the education you share…beautiful stuff! We recently traveled to Assam, India & I saw some textiles in a similar style! Amazing ‘old-school’ talent out there, still being passed down through the generations.

    • This is probably one of the nicest comments anyone has ever left me, so thoughtful!!! I really appreciate it & I hope during your trip you were able to bring home some textiles! Of course I’m jealous if you did!!

  2. Love Suzani. I just realized what these were called not so
    long ago, lol. It is absolutely timeless much like persian
    rugs.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

