New Year Goals

January 6, 2011 at 6:02 am | Posted in accessories, personal | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

Sloan is still on break this week so it’s been a bit hard to get into the full swing of the blog this week.  Today, I’ll be supervising her making sure she gets her 2 tons of laundry and her room cleaned up.

I don’t really do the New Year’s Resolution thing but I do re-examine my goals from time to time and a new year of course is a great time to think about things once again.

One goal applies to what I first talked about when it comes to Sloan and her chores, I think this is the year mom needs to take a step back and let Sloan take a little more responsibility when it comes to taking care of herself.  Of course that means I should probably get my husband on this bandwagon too!!  (I need to let go of me being the only person who can do it right!)

On a personal front the goal is to get my skin under control.  As most of you know I was pregnant a few years ago and with that I was blessed with rosacea and since that time I’ve tried a million products to help get it under control.  I recently went online and did a skin care analysis with Mario Badescu and the other day I got my free samples.  Seriously the first time I used it I could see and feel the difference.  It was the first time in months that my skin didn’t burn after applying my product.  We’ll see how it goes but I am totally goingt to be ordering their products.  Does anyone else use Mario Badescu and if so can you tell me your experience?

A professional and personal goal is to finish up school and get my interior design degree by next year, which means I’ll have to suck it up and take summer classes.

When it comes to House to your Home and Laurie Jones Designs there are many goals.  Last year I tried to get a space at Midland Antiques to sell my furniture but unfortunately a booth space hasn’t opened up yet.  I thought while I waited for a space I would sell my furniture at a few farmer markets this summer and possibly have a small sale in my backyard for invited guest.  Another goal is to get my Etsy shop up and running.  I get alot of emails asking where I get some of my accessories for my home so I thought I’d start selling the unique items I find on my shopping excursions!

The blog look will be changing again soon, it will reflect a bit more of who I really am and my design philosophy.

I was blessed with a really great 2010 and knock on wood 2011 will be even better!

(No pictures today so I hope I didn’t lose any of you!!)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My mother has gotten me hooked on it. She has adult acne
    & bumps. Her skin looks great. She looks fresh &
    has a lovely glow, without makeup! I was so impressed that I
    started using the acne products, I found myself with adult acne
    about 9 months ago. I love the facial cleanser because it works
    well with my clarisonic or alone.

  2. hi laurie!
    i religiously read your blog every morning (and a few others) before work and love everything you do!! thank you for all the inspiration while we tackle our first home buying/decorating dilemmas!
    i also suffer from rosacea and i have tried millions of products!!!!! the redness is annoying but for me it was the texture of my skin that was killing me. it was like sandpaper! i use a couple different brands BUT i have found that moisture is the biggest thing…Clinique moisture surge (pink in color) and i use it morning AND night. also every other day or so i will use philosophy’s microderm delivery face pads instead of an exfoliator which can irritate my skin. hope this helps!!

    • Hi Lindsey, thanks for taking the time to comment and for visiting me! Thanks for the skin advice too, I have been using Clinique since I was 16 years old including the moisture surge but I really think my skin has changed in the last few years and even that burns my skin, I’ve never tried philosophy’s but have heard good things about it, so I will for sure write it in my notes to try! Thanks again and good luck on your first home (how exciting!!!).


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

