The Dining Room Table

December 7, 2010 at 12:22 pm | Posted in dining room, furniture | 11 Comments
Tags: ,

About a month ago I purchased a dining room table, 4 chairs and a sideboard from a cool new thrift shop I found.

Here’s the before pics.

 

 

The photos don’t do the ugliness justice though, as you can tell some of the pieces were painted white and they even went so far as to speckle gold paint all over it!  Classy!!!

I wanted something simple  and I needed to get it done quickly so the table and sideboard were sprayed with a primer/paint in one and the chairs were painted in a shade of gray that is actually 2 shades lighter then the wall paint.  I quickly upholstered the chairs with a black and white dotted waverly fabric.  I plan on having them redone by a professional so some piping can be added but for the holiday season while we entertain this will work for us.

 

On the other side of the table is a bench I bought at HomeGoods, I’ll show you the before and after of that project tomorrow!  I still have lots of work to do in the dining room but I’m very happy with the progress so far!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the way your pieces turned out-especially the sideboard. I have a wonderful table project that is on hold until I move and get a larger dining room. Can you tell me more about how you achieved the smooth finish on your table?

    • Hi Tiffany, I have a professional paint sprayer that I used for these pieces specifically because I didn’t want brush marks. Hope this helps!

  2. […] room, furniture | Leave a Comment Tags: dining room, dining room bench Yesterday I wrote about the dining room table makeover and told you I’d post a photo of the bench today.  I decided to use a bench for a […]

  3. That looks great! Thanks so much for linking it up to gettin’ crafty on hump day! 🙂

  4. That looks amazing!!! Great work

  5. What a great transformation you did with that table and chairs. Really look nice.

  6. Looks beautiful, great job! Love the table in black.
    Best regards,
    Gloria

  7. I love how you’ve transformed this. I bought a Queen Anne style dining suite a few weeks ago. I have picked out the material for the seats and back. I was planning on painting the table and the chairs white but then started thinking I might paint them black. After seeing yours I’m going to go with black table and white chairs. Thanks!
    Megs 🙂

  8. I LOVE it! Fabulous job!
    Thanks for linking up to Making It With Allie! I can’t wait to see what you have for next week!
    AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

  9. Great transformation!

    Thanks for linking up to Creative Juice Thursdays…Hope to see you back {link party will open tonight!}

    nicolette @
    http://momnivoresdilemma.blogspot.com

  10. […] my last big project of December was a great dining room table and buffet that I got for a steal.  The makeover happened quickly […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

