Television Console Reveal

November 16, 2010 at 4:16 am | Posted in furniture | 55 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

As you all know we purchased a house back in May and have been busy getting unpacked, decorating and doing some major remodeling.  The first project my husband wanted to finish was our basement that was completely unfinished.  I’m happy to report that we now have an office, guest room, bathroom and family room in our downstairs space!

I went home to visit family about a month ago and I’ll show you what I came home to.

My worst nightmare, a big black box of a television.  I’m not a t.v. watcher and honestly if I lived on my own and had no husband or child I’m not sure if I’d even own one (but don’t take away my mac!), but my family loves them some t.v.,  xbox, wii, playstation and whatever other gadgets they’ve collected over the years, so began my hunt for a television console that would hold all their equipment and be large enough to compete with the newly acquired television.

I quickly learned they were expensive!!  I mean way more then I wanted to spend, like I said I don’t even like t.v., I’d rather spend that money on the new sofa table I have my eye on (the link has been sent to my husband for xmas!)

The rhys console from pottery barn was $899.00 and was way too small for the wall.

The Pearson from Crate and Barrel was $1200 and was a little too modern for my taste and again too small.

So you know me, I decided to head on over to the Goodwill and found something I liked, but I hesitated at first because it was $50.00.   Let me explain how my mind works, I’ll spend $100.00 on a blouse from Anthropologie but if a shirt is over $20.00 at Target I tell myself it’s too expensive.  So it’s sorta the same thing, one second I’m looking at television cabinets that cost $1200.00 but now all of a sudden $50.00 is too much because it’s sitting at the Goodwill.  (I know I’m not wired right!)

But after looking it over I quickly realized this was a sturdy piece of furniture, with lots of drawers and space for everything and the lines were pretty amazing.  Plus I thought what would $50.00 buy me at department store?  (I’ll answer that for you!)

So I made arrangements to get the piece home and after sanding it, priming and painting and adding new brass fixtures this is the before & final results! (Oh and a sneak peek of our basement!)

(Before)

After:

Dont forget to link up your furniture or design related project!

Are you looking for some design advice? I can help!

55 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a wonderful transformation – I love it! I’m dropping by from Metamorphosis Monday.

    Have a great week.

  2. We recently inherited a huge flat screen tv, and have no place to put it. I love this idea! I’ll be heading to the thrift store in hopes of finding something similar 🙂

    • Good luck, make sure you post something if you do!!

  3. I have been on the hunt for a piece like this. Our TV is in an armoire now and it takes up too much room. Your cabinet is gorgeous.

    -Rene

  4. Awesome!

  5. Ooooohhhhh! Pretty! I love the Rhys from PB! It’s been one of my faves for a couple years now. I am so glad I found your sight. I have been in my house for two years now and hung a total of two pics! It’s driving my hubby crazy so now my New Year’s resolution is to decorate my house one room at a time and I will be blogging about it but I may need some help along the way because I have some akward room layouts so I’ll definately be keeping you in mind!

    • Thanks so much, I’m glad you stopped by and hope to hear from you soon!! Good luck on your house!!

  6. That is incredible and I never thought of using a buffet for an entertainment center! We are in the look-out for one ourselves so this is so inspirational—thanks a mill! 🙂

  7. Oh wow, I LOVE it! You did a great job making it modern and fit your space. I love GW just because there’s usually some good, old (meaning well-made) wood pieces there. Great job!

    I hope you can join my giveaway going on now! alittleknickknack.blogspot.com
    Have a great day!

  8. Love it! It is a gorgeous piece!

  9. I love it! I think old dressers have so many different kinds of uses. I am the EXACT same way about the shopping thing- My sis and I were talking about how a pair of leggings at Target that were $24.99 was way too expensive. In Target dollars it’s like $100!

    • I was so happy to get your comment, I’m glad someone else shares my thought process to shopping!! I hope you stop by again!!

  10. That turned out great. Can never go wrong with black Ÿ

  11. Wow this turned out beautifully! Nice choices for the hardware!

  12. I love this – I love the way your mind works. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for stopping by and being nice and saying you like how my mind works! LOL!

  13. This is great 🙂 I love furniture redos! I have a similar piece and am trying to figure out what to do with it. Thanks for showing yours off – I’m always looking for ideas!

    Stopping in from Be Colorful 🙂

  14. That is awesome! I would love for you to come link up at our Strut Your Stuff Party!

    http://danajeanward.blogspot.com/2010/11/strut-your-stuff-link-party-and.html

    • Thanks so much, I’ll be by thanks for the heads up!

  15. That looks incredible!! I’m visiting from My Backyard Eden. I can’t believe the transformation. Good job seeing the potential this piece had. I love it.

  16. I absolutely LOVE this! I have linked up a similar project …go have a look.
    Yours is so classy and perfect! I just love those old ugly sideboards/dreseers/watchamacallits from the old days… 🙂

  17. Great job! There’s so much of that old dark wood furniture around (usually for cheap) and I love when people paint i!!

  18. What a transformation! It looks great. I love that you can take something that somebody would throw out and restore it to such a lovely piece. Good job!
    Kim

  19. Great transofrmation! I love it when a thrift store find turns out so elegant. Love it!

  20. I think you and I are wired the same way. And I’m looking for a TV unit/stand/dresser/console table right now too. Have the exact same problem. I want something wide but shallow. My TV is on a HUGE wall and I want something that is substantial but not too ornate. What a search! I’m also making a huge canvas/painting to hang over the TV so when it’s not on, it’ll be in hiding. I wish both of these projects were already done. LOL

  21. That is FANTASTIC!!!!!!! Love it! Thanks so much for linking it up to gettin’ crafty on hump day! 🙂

  22. I like yours better than the Pottery Barn version. So much great storage too. Well done!

  23. Beautiful transformation. Happy VTT!

  24. now THAT’S what i’m talkin’ about! way better than most choices…and uh, the price ain’t bad either *wink*

  25. I am a huge fan of painting furniture black. It is so elegant. Very wise choice spending the $50.

    Take care,
    Lisa

  26. I am with you. I rarely turn the TV on. Your persistent paid off and what you found looks very nice.

  27. Wow, what a great remodel! It looks wonderful! You did an excellent job and the tiny bit of your basement I can see looks gorgeous as well! Visiting from Colorado Lady, happy VTT!

  28. I enjoyed reading your ideas of what is a bargain. Smile. the makeover purchase was brilliant and worth every bit of the 50.00. Good job on that piece of furniture, it looks awesome.
    Hugs, Jeanne

  29. It is GORGEOUS!! I love all of the details on the piece, and I love that you went with the brass, it is different from what everyone else is doing these days and it really pops! Love your ‘new’ piece!

    • Thanks so much for the nice comment & thanks for visiting, I hope you come back!

  30. The cabinet transformation is gorgeous!! You did a great job!! You gotta love Goodwill!

  31. Beautiful! It balances the big black box so well. But you had me chuckling with your budget. I’m the same way – depends upon what it is as to the budget.

    Would love you to stop by this weekend and link up to Passion for Paint!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one to think that way!! Thanks for stopping by, I’m heading over to link up right now! (;

  32. Beautiful transformation and I can totally relate to the different mentality depending on where you’re shopping. Right there with ya on that. But it was worth your spending that $50. It turned out great!

  33. What a fantastic find! You did a great job refinishing it. Enjoy that new basement.

    • Thanks for stopping by & leaving such a nice comment!

  34. I am amazed!! It’s gorgeous! I can’t believe what it looked like before and what it’s been transformed into. And for only $50 … okay, lots of elbow grease too, but well worth it. Came by way of Thrifty Thursday … thanks for sharing!

  35. I have a piece just like this! (extremely close anyway!) I also have two end tables with drawers in the same style. I wondered how it would be to sand all those details and paint it. Did you get into all the detailed areas?

    This is a great inspiration! I doubt I will have time to tackle it until next summer – if that, but I will link my post to you when I do. For the time being, I’m adding it to my Random Goodness Tuesdays post that I am working on right now.
    ~Kelly

    • Hi Kelly! Thanks for visiting and leaving such a nice comment! As far as your pieces, you really don’t have to sand all that well, just enough to get the shine off the piece. After that I used a good primer and painter in one and simply sprayed the piece. Spraying it gives it a more clean look without the brush strokes. After that I just sprayed the top with polyurethane. I hope this helps you & good luck on your furniture!

  36. This is a post that most of us can relate to. I have been doing the same thing this fall so I definitely heard you here. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing on Motivated Monday at BeColorful.
    Pam

  37. Im late to the party. But This redo is amazing. You know I love to “GOOD” find.

    http://mrgoodwillhunting.blogspot.com

  38. So GEORGOUS!!! I would have walked right past the before:( You have a good eye!!

  39. LOVE
    LOVE LOVE IT!
    I am the same with Goodwill. There is no consistency with their pricing. I can pay $10 for it one day and another day a similar item will be $50. I am still kicking myself for some things I have passed up!

    • I know, I’ve passed up lots too, I really try now to say to myself if your head is saying get it, get it! I mean it’s goodwill right!

  40. […] November I showed off an ugly Goodwill find that I turned into a television console for our newly finished […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

