Vintage Dresser Makeover & A Moodboard

November 9, 2010 at 12:22 am | Posted in furniture | 31 Comments
Tags: ,

I thought I’d try something new today sorta a twist on just a before and after piece of furniture.  Of course I’ll show you the before and after but I’m also going to show you how you can possibly use the piece in a room.

I bought this dresser awhile back and unfortunately you have to use your imagination a bit because my computer’s hard-drive crashed awhile back so this is the only before photo.  The drawers are on the floor!

I wanted to do something different then just paint the dresser black or white so I came up with an idea to paint it 2 different colors, I thought the piece would look great in a modern nursery, it could even be used as a changing table, all you would have to do is place a pad on top.  Here is the after!

(The piece is staying in the garage because it’s for my shop I’m opening at Midland Antiques in January)

Here’s what the piece looks like with some modern nursery accessories!

 

 

Olivia Crib Walmart

Modern Mobile

Dwell Bedding

West Elm Zig Zag Rug

Also I set up a linky on Sunday so people can show off their own furniture makeovers and any sort of design or decorating project, so please if you have time take a look and even better link up.  I’ll be doing it every Sunday and it’s called Sweet Skills Sunday!

31 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very mod!!! When do you have the time?

    • I’m a night owl but unfortunately that’s not so great having to be up so early every morning plus Drew’s gone so much with work and my 12 year old daughter suddenly seems to be gone too with a million activities which leaves me with alot of free time!!

  2. I love this piece!!! The color is gorgeous!

    I found you at Skip to My Lou’s link party! I’m in Indy as well! I saw “Midland Antiques” and I had to scroll back up to see your profile! 🙂

    • It’s always great to meet a fellow Indy girl!! Thanks for stopping by!!!

  3. Hi, I’m visiting from Nifty Thrifty Tuesdays. I really like the modern look of the dresser, and think it would look great in any room of the house.

  4. Wow, that is beautiful. A great paint job.
    Hugs, Jeanne

    • Thanks for taking the time to stop over and comment!

  5. What a great color! The dresser really looks great!

  6. Great job! I’m a huge fan of the two-tone look, and I love how you created that moodboard around your piece.

  7. I love the colors you chose. Great job!

  8. Hi, Laurie – that is gorgeous and bold. Love it!

  9. Happy Wordless Wednesday!
    Love the change. I might have to try the two tone with a piece that I have for all the kids backpacks and diaper bags. I can’t wait to hear more about your shop.
    Thanks for sharing and have a fabulous day!

  10. wow, love the shape of that dresser and your bold color choice. looks awesome! stopping over from my backyard eden.

    http://www.thecapeonthecorner.blogspot.com

  11. I love what you did to this piece of furniture! It turned out so cute! Could you please link it up to Hoo’s got talent instead of Hoo are you!
    Thanks!

  12. That is awesome! I would love for you to come link that in my Strut Your Stuff Party! http://danajeanward.blogspot.com/2010/11/strut-your-stuff-party.html

  13. Very nice- I have a dresser very similar to this one. I like what you did.

  14. GREAT job!!!!!!!! Love it! Thanks so much for linking up to gettin’ crafty on hump day! 🙂

  15. What a cool idea, and it’s so mod! I really like how you put together the lay out with the nursery, very well done. Thanks for sharing your vintage piece, happy VTT

  16. What a difference a little tender care, creativity and work can do. You did a marvelous job on this and it looks very nice. You will not have any trouble selling it.

  17. I’m loving that! The design board is fabulous! Great job on the redo.

  18. That turned out great! Love the two-color combination. I enjoyed your nursery design ideas too.

  19. lovey transformation. I love the blue!! Happy VTT!

  20. Very cool! Looks awesome!

    I’m having a Christmas card giveaway on my blog. Stop by and enter!

  21. Love the colors! What a great piece. Thanks so much for linking up to Finished for Friday!

  22. I love this piece. It looks great in two colors.

  23. Ok, I love this! You did such an AWESOME job!
    Thanks for linking up to Making It With Allie! I can’t wait to see what you have for next week!
    AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

  24. This looks amazing. I love the nursery design!

    Thanks for linking up. And don’t forget to enter my along for the ride: designs giveaway! http://bit.ly/9cz33f

  25. I’ve been meaning to paint some furniture. this turned out great! Thanks for linking up to Topsy Turvy Tuesday’s.

  26. love it, and it looks amazing on your inspiration board! thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday!

  27. Love the color! Great job.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

