Bright Bohemian Tween Room Resource List

November 4, 2010 at 12:27 am | Posted in tween bedroom | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

I get lots and lots of questions on my room designs so I’ve decided to set up a photo to the right that you can go to and click on anytime so you can find out how I finished off that particular space.  Today I’m going to focus on my 12 year old daughter Sloan’s room.  In case you forgot this is what the room looks like.

Before:

After:

I’ve also answered some questions I’ve taken from Apartment Therapy’s questionnaire, they’re great questions and they help answer how the space came to be!

Style:  Bright, Bohemian, Tween Friendly.

Inspiration:  12 year old tween’s taste.

Favorite Element:  Ikea pendant light

Biggest Challenge:  I wasn’t too crazy about the bedding that my daughter picked out but she loved it, it’s her room and I wanted to make it work for her.

What Her Friends Say:  Cool!  Can your mom decorate my room??

Biggest Embarrassment:  That I had to patch about a million holes where I installed the wood blinds and curtains.  I seriously hate installing window treatments!

Proudest DIY:  Making my own stencil and transforming an Ikea malm dresser to not look like an Ikea dresser.

Biggest Indulgence:  The bed.  Tween’s change their minds quick so I didn’t spend alot of money on furnishing so they can be quickly changed out but her bed won’t be changed so I spent alot of money on it and I’m hoping it will last until she goes away to college.

Best Advice:  It’s not my space it’s my daughters, when designing your kids space let them have a say in it afterall they spend ALOT of time in there, you want them to be happy, so let go of your design taste a little bit!

Dream Source:  I don’t really have one because I wouldn’t feel comfortable spending an outrageous amount of money in an ever changing space!  If I had to pick it would probably be Room & Board.

Wall color:  Benjamin Moore Angelina

Ceiling color:  Benjamin Moore Orleans Violet

Trim color:  Benjamin Moore Simply White

Furniture paint color:  Benjamin Moore Eggplant

Furnishings-

2-3 drawer Malm dressers (Ikea)

Lindved Side Table (Ikea)

Television Stand-discontinued but a similar style is Benno (Ikea)

Desk- Galant (Ikea)

Desk Chair- Snille Swivel Chair (Ikea)

White slim bookshelf discontinued (Target)

Bed-Goodwill DIY Painted in Simply White and fabric from Calico Corner

Zig Zag Side Table DIY street find

Window treatments-

2 inch white wood slates (Home Depot)

Your Zone Chino Curtains-Racy Pink (Walmart)

Hardware (Walmart)

Lighting-

Chandelier PS Maskros (Ikea)

Room Essentials Purple Ceramic Lamps (Target)

Rooms Essentials Purple Desk Lamp (Target)

Bedding-

Bohemian Xhilaration Bed in a Bag-discontinued (Target)

Your Zone Pillows, Blue, Tie Die (Walmart)

Your Zone Fuzzy Throw (Walmart)

Accessories-

Magazine Files Flyt (Ikea)

Scroll Mirror (TJ Maxx)

Candles (Ikea)

White Lantern (Home Goods)

Bohemian Footstool (Home Goods)

Foo Dogs (Home Goods)

S chalkboard letter DIY (Hobby Lobby)

Storage bins (Target)

Snow Globes (Collected over time they are city and state globes of places we’ve traveled)

Large green leaf print and brown bird print (West Elm)

Keep Calm print (Etsy shop)

Owl art (Best friend Ria art)

Watercolor art (Best godmother everrr, Aunt Liz)

Paint by number (Sloan)

Green circular mirror (Target)

If you still have questions please feel free to email me, I really enjoy hearing from everyone!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had to laugh at your best advice. Our now college age daughter wanted a bright orange bedroom while in high school. It still looks like the light is on in that room as I climb the stairs. It makes me smile that I let her have this one. But it is time to paint!

    Your room turned out beautifully!

    Shelley

    • Thanks Shelley!! My mother-in-law’s daughter’s room was neon green and sorta glowed as you walked by it too!!

  2. Wish I had a room like that growing up! I love her snow globe collection!

    awesome room.

  3. that is so cool
    can you please send me some tips for my room!!
    thxs addy!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

