Tween Approved

September 28, 2010 at 12:29 am | Posted in furniture, tween bedroom | 37 Comments
Tags:

In my search for interesting furniture I was on the lookout for a headboard for my daughter’s room. She likes color and she likes girly but she doesn’t like babyish, I mean hello she’s 12 years old! No joke about it she’s my toughest client yet.

I was very excited when I ran across this bed.

It reminded me of a bed I had when I was little back in the 70’s! Of course that’s why it needed to be updated but the “bones” of this bed were totally there!

I tore the bed apart so I could add padding and fabric and then painted the bed white.

Here’s a sneak peek of Sloan’s colorful bohemian bedroom! I promise the room is almost done and I’ll post the reveal soon!

Not only did Sloan love her bed her friends came over and said it was totally cool! Yea I can roll with the 12 year olds!

37 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh to be a tween again! The bedroom, especially the bed, is where I spent hours and hours daydreaming, reading, (and crying too haha)! You’ve created a beautiful place for Sloan to just be herself and to relax, regroup, hang out, and whatever else she needs to do. Awesome job and can’t wait to see the rest!

    • What a nice comment! Made my day, thanks for stopping by!

  2. The bed looks really cool! Lucky girl 🙂

  3. I love it – very boho and the pillow is the perfect accent.

    • You gotta throw in a little hippy chic! (; Thanks for visiting!

  4. Found your blog through links…If you ever need new recipes come swing by our blog. we also have a great give away going on now.. A free purse of your choice

    Love that headboard.. great job

  5. Oh that looks fantastic! Your daughter must be so happy, what a fun looking cool hip room…can’t wait to see the rest, great colors too!!~

  6. Happy Wordless Wednesday!
    Great redo. I think it was a success. The color just makes the details pop! Glad you could please your client, lol.
    Thanks for linking up and have a fabulous fall day!

  7. No doubt that bed was a hit with the tweens. I’m sure it would even pass muster with the teen and college crowd, too. Great job!

    Thanks for linking to my party. I would love to have you join me each week.

    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks for showing my dresser this week! Nice surprise!

  8. What a cool bed. A very lucky girl to have a Mom who’s so hip. Do they even say hip anymmore?

    • I think they do! But you’re probably asking the wrong person! Thanks for stopping by!

  9. that is so very unique! I love it!

  10. Beautiful job. Love the transformation. It looks perfect in her room. Happy WW!

  11. This is gorgeous, you have done a wonderful job!

  12. I love the pop of color. Very fun.

  13. Hell, not just perfect for a tween. I’m 23 and -I- want it!

  14. It looks great! And I love that color of pink/coral! Of course she loved it! I bet the whole room will be SO much fun to see! Thanks for linking up to Topsy Turvy Tuesday’s.

  15. That headboard is amazing, good thing my girls don’t see it, they’d want one too!!!

  16. It is so cool!! Love the fabric and the paint and the bring coloring of the bed. I bet the room looks fantastic!

    Great job!

  17. Ohmigosh that’s totally hip and cool. I love the punch of color and that it’s fabric!!! Can’t wait to see the rest of the room! Thanks for sharing with us at A Crafty Soiree! I hope to see you next week too!

  18. Looks wonderful, I am sure your daughter loves it! Have a great VTT!

  19. Love the entire look! And where did you find that quilt? Gorgeous!

  20. Sorry, please delete my link. Thanks!

  21. That bed is gorgeous! Nice work Mama!! 🙂

  22. that bed is awesome! so fun for a teen to have an updated vintage piece!

  23. You don’t have to be a Tween to love this bed. Those colors would be right at home in this grannies room as well. In fact it reminds me of one I had back in the seventies.

    Great job!

  24. I wish I had a color like that in my bedroom as a child. How fun. Now wonder all her friends love it.

  25. Tweens are hard to decorate for! You did a fantastic job! Thanks SO much for joining in on Thrilling Thursdays @ Paisley Passions. I love to see the creative talent of other fellow bloggers. Hope you to see you again soon 🙂
    ~Lori S.
    Thrilling Thursdays @Paisley Passions

  26. Looks great!
    Melissa
    http://www.burstsofcreativity.blogspot.com/

  27. Awesome!
    Thanks for sharing at Socialize with me Monday til Sunday.

  28. very nice! and love the pillows….thanks so much for sharing on Craft schooling Sunday, great to have you!

  29. What a great redo.She must be thrilled.

  30. That turned out really cute. I love the colors.

  31. […] September was the month I finished Sloan’s room.  She of course was the lucky one whose room was completed first!  Ahhh to be 12 again! […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

