Easy Dresser Makeover

September 21, 2010 at 2:35 am | Posted in furniture | 88 Comments
Tags: , ,

This dresser is one of the few items that Drew brought into our marriage, so we’ve had it awhile now. It originally was pine and ugly and he wanted to get rid of it but it was a great sturdy piece of furniture. We painted it white and Sloan used it in her room for years.

Since we moved to our new house I decided I was going to use it in our room. It needed a new coat of paint but I thought about sprucing it up just a bit more. I thought painting a few stripes might make it pop a bit more.

This is how it started out.

Tape attached to the dresser.

The dresser painted.

Then I thought I’d splurge. I mean I saved money by using an old free dresser right? I got these knobs from Anthropologie. They are called coiled rope knobs and they were $10.00 a piece. A bit pricey but I think they made a big difference!

The final result!

I think the splurge was worth it don’t you?

88 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ooh! Yeah, I love it & the knobs are great.

  2. I love it. I will have to show my Daughter. She would love to do that for her Son’s chest of drawers.

    Willow

  3. Looks wonderful – the stripes were such a great idea! Love the blue and white together too. Great job!

  4. That is just darling! what a transformation. Thanks for sharing!! well done

  5. Love it! Great job!

  6. Great update–what color blue is that? I love it.

    • Benjamin Moore Annapolis Green! Thanks for visiting H2urHome!! It means alot to me!

  7. Wow! What a difference a stripe of paint and some new knobs makes. Thanks for linking to Messy Monday!!

  8. I love the stripes and those knobs are so great! Really gives it a coastal feel.

  9. What a great idea!

  10. How come men can never see the potential in things? Good job saving this dresser and making it beautiful! The splurge on knobs was worth it, they’re perfect!

  11. wow, what a great transformation! i have a few pieces of furniture to repaint, but i haven’t gotten the courage to do it yet!

    • No courage needed just whip out that paint girl! (;

  12. I am crying! You did a fabulous job and those knobs are gorgeous!

    • Your comment made me laugh! Don’t cry! (; Thanks for the love!

  13. Love the effect! Thanks for sharing on 2nd Time Around!

  14. Oh, I love the knobs, they are perfect against the white!

  15. looks great! nice job. I’ve been loving those Anthropologie knobs for some time now and its cool to see them used on your dresser.

  16. That piece makes such a statement now. I love it! The stripes and the knobs were the perfect adornments.

    Thanks for linking to my party. I would love to have you join me for one, or all three, of my parties each week.

    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

  17. Great job! It looks awesome!

  18. I think the knobs were DEFINITELY worth it! It makes such a statement. The whole thing turned out wonderfully…great job!

    • Thanks! Maybe you can convince my husband $100.00 for knobs is ok! I mean I actually was saving him money right?!

  19. I think it’s great that you went one step farther than just a white dresser-we see a lot of those-your’s has character-love the color you chose!

    • Thanks, that’s exactly what I was going for, I wanted to break up all the white, I chose annapolis green by benjamin moore which is 2 shades lighter then the room color.

  20. Happy Wordless Wednesday!
    Now that is a makeover. I love how it is simple but it has a big bang. Great job!
    Thank you so much for linking up this week and I hope you have a blessed day!

  21. You’ve done a fantastic job and I really like the fact that you’ve picked up the blue of the room, make it look like the drawers were made especially for the room.. well done

    • Thanks so much! I chose annapolis green by benjamin moore which is actually 2 shades lighter then the paint color, so it was in the same color scheme but not too matchy matchy!

  22. The stripes are adorable. Thank you for linking up to upcycled awesome! I love this.

  23. LOVE those knobs!! Thanks for linking up to my Smarty Pants Blog of the Week!!

  24. I would have never thought to do that. Great job.

  25. That dresser looks awesome!

  26. What a gorge-us project. I love the creamy blue agains the white with the taupy colored knobs. I adoreeeeeee me some Anthropologie, but yes, mucho bucks! I think they were worth it, though! Well done!

  27. I love what you did with the dresser and the knobs work perfectly. Definitely worth the splurge. I’m your newest subscriber. Can’t wait to see more!

    Candace

  28. I love it! The stripes and the colors were a fabulous choice. The lovely knobs really are the cherry on top. Glad to have found you via Its So Very Cheri. TFS

  29. Great Project, beautiful knobs, super job.

    cindy@stitches

  30. Love this…cute knobs. Happy VTT!

  31. Looks great! I love the vertical stripe idea. Very fresh and chic. The knobs are adorable… I heart Anthro! (:
    ~Michaela

  32. I am so happy to read this. This is the kind of info that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this beneficial content.

  33. I just had to take a moment to comment on this one! You did AWESOME! I love how it turned out! I need to add a dresser to my sons closet and this would be so cute! The hardware is just perfect! Thanks for linking up to We Can Do It Cheaper!

  34. Hello! I love your dresser update! The knobs are FABULOUS!
    Hugs,
    Olivia

  35. What a clever idea and it looks so nice. Love the knobs and they make the makeover more updated. Good job.
    Hugs, Jeanne

  36. Doing this outstanding work, you need to have your hubby bring home more junk. This is a fabulous idea and looks great. You are very creative.

  37. I have never seen vertical stripes on a dresser! I LOVE this!

  38. Beautiful job. The knobs are to die for! LOVE LOVE LOVE

  39. boom chica wowow

  40. I love everything about this dresser and I am going to have to try stripes! I also love Anthropologie knobs!

  41. LOVE those stripes!!! They look great! Thanks for sharing your “creative mojo” with me on Thrilling Thursday. I hope you will be back again soon 🙂
    ~Lori S.
    Thrilling Thursdays @Paisley Passions

  42. Such a “COOL” looking makeover…love it!!!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  43. What a statement this piece makes now! I love it.

  44. I love the color on your walls! and the dresser is just perfect!!

    • Thank you it took a few days for me to get used to the color but now I love it!!

  45. Wow, that looks great! Thanks for linking up to Vintage Suitcase Friday!

  46. how pretty! I love the stripe idea to give it some character!

  47. That turned out fantastic! Love the color and the stripe really makes it pop. Thanks for joining me. Have a wonderful weekend. Debbie

  48. I have a similar dresser and never thought of the stripes, very clever!

  49. I love the dresser’s makeover! Yes, the knobs were totally worth it! I really like the color on your walls and would love to know what you used.

    ~ Tracy

    • Thanks! It took me awhile to get used to the color but I love it now! I used Benjamin Moore’s Rhine River and I used 2 shades lighter BM Annapolis Green for the dresser so it would look good together but not too matchy match. Thanks for stopping by!

  50. Love this idea. if you need new recipes ever come check out our blog.

    new follower too

    • I’ve already checked out the recipes and will be back after design I’m a wanna be cook! Thanks for stopping by!!

  51. definitely! It looks fabulous!

  52. Love the stripes and the knobs. It doesn’t look like the same piece of furniture! It looks so pretty with your wall color.

  53. I love what you have done will be passing on to my daughter as she has a chest that was my Motheres then mine I used it as a changing unit for my daughter she now has in here bedroom needs a good makeover

  54. I love those stripes and the knobs are just too perfect.

  55. Love it! The knobs, even pricey, make it!

  56. Very nice job. The knobs are so cool. I love ’em!

  57. Very nice. Thanks for linking to Craftastic Monday, would love if you added a link or party button:)

  58. It looks terrific! The knobs are awesome too. What is the name of the blue paint color? I love it.

    • Thank you! The color is annapolis green by Benjamin Moore, you’re right though even though its called green it looks blue! Thanks for visiting H2urHome!

  59. Wow. It turned out very nicely. I think the light colors work well together and the knobs are great!

  60. Those knobs are awesome. You whole project came out really great.
    ~Kimberlee
    http://www.TheSpunkyDiva.blogspot.com

    Visiting from Raising Memories, Sharing Time

  61. Very pretty transformation. I love the knobs.

  62. It turned out beautiful! I have not tried striping yet…but I am going to soon. Thanks for sharing. It really looks great!

  63. Absolutely LOVE this! You did a wonderful job salvaging this piece – and what a great memory too… Lovey update, vignette, and colors…

    😀 Lynda

  64. Thanks for sharing with Sister Sister! Love this dresser makeover…you make it look so simple!

  65. Hi. Not sure were the dresser makeover falls into the letter “A” but regardless of that, this is a really contemporary and interesting makeover.

    You are really clever to use the existing lines of the piece and add the simple stripes with the flare of the knobs! Definitely, definitely worth the splurge!

    Thank you for linking to Alphabe-Thursday.

    Hope to see you again!

    A

  66. Wait. D’oh. A is for Anthropologie. I’m sorry for being a dufus. It’s like 4 am here so I’m using that as my excuse!

  67. Wow what a great idea. I know a fresh coat of paint can do wonders but this is such a nice way to add a little bit more pizzaz. Thank you for joining us at A Crafty Soiree! I hope you’ll come back next week and link up again!

  68. I like this unique treatment – it looks great!

    Thanks for linking up to Fab Friday –

    Cheers!

  69. Fabulous redo. LOVE the stripe effect!

  70. beautiful revamp!

  71. I love painted dressers – yours turned out beautiful. Great knobs!

    Susan,
    http://entertainexchange.blogspot.com/
    Party and Entertaining Inspiration

  72. Wonderful makeover! Great to meet you Laurie, and thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday, I’d just love to see you again soon,
    we need a bit more interior projects at the party!

    • Thanks, you’ll see more of me, I love your blog!

  73. Freakin nice blog .. looking forward to further posts.

  74. LOVE this, it looks awesome, I am gona run right out and do it to a desk! The anthropology knobs are awesome too, so worth it!

  75. How was this an “A” comment?

    lovely dresser, but I wouldn’t have paid that much for a single knob.
    Hope you have your designer dresser for a long time 🙂
    Susan

    ps…sorry 2 B so late

    • The expensive knobs you wouldnt buy are from Anthropologie “A”. Not really sure how to take your comment, sorta comes off a little passive aggresive but were all entitled to an opinion. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

