Not Grandma’s Lamps Anymore

September 14, 2010 at 1:43 am | Posted in lighting | 23 Comments
Tags: ,

I picked up these two lamps a few weeks ago for our master bedroom at Midland Antiques. When I showed them to my husband he shook his head and asked me if I robbed someone’s grandma’s house!

Before:

I admit they’re not cool and they’re not pretty but what drew me to them is they have great bones and that’s what you should keep in mind when you’re out shopping. As most of you know I’m all about the spray paint and I thought these two lamps would look really pretty painted white.


After:

After I spray painted the lamps I replaced the harps to a smaller size and bought 2 lampshades which I ended up getting on sale at Walmart. I will also say this I bought 4 different lampshades until I found the one I liked. Don’t be afraid of buying things and then taking them back if they don’t work.

Now what can I spray paint next???

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I knew they were great the minute you picked them out!!! LOL! I love Midland Antiques. Joe used to take me there when we lived in Logansport. It was a great adventure and now that we live so close, I’ve been there twice. Have you tried the Christmas Tree Shoppe for lamp shades? Great prices. It’s a nice upgrade from Big Lots. Love your posts, like getting a check, in the mail (well…email)!!

  2. Drew – don’t bend over!

  3. Someone gave me some old lamps when we first moved into our house. I didn’t love them that’s for sure! I eventually spray painted them and recovered the shades and I have to say that I LOVE them now!

    Thanks for linking to Transform Tuesday!!

  4. Those look awesome! What a great tip!

  5. What a great idea. They turned out lovely. Happy WW!

  6. The flower one is so cool-I usually see the chandeliers like that!

  7. Oh, my — I LOVE these — and I’d have kept them exactly the way they were. That said, they are pretty awesome in the white, too.

  8. Very nice! What does Hubs think now? Great job!

  9. I have never used spray paint. After seeing how well your lamps turned out, I may have to start finding things and spray them. Your lamps turned out very nice.

  10. Is there any limit to the wonderfulness of spray paint? I think not! The lamps are gorgeous now. They’re unique and pretty!

    I’m here from Paisley Passions linky party, by the way. 🙂

    -Lauren
    http://31diy.blogspot.com

  11. they turned out so cute! I have a touch lamp that is either going in the trash or getting refurbished!

  12. Those turned out great. I liked the pretty flower one either way. Nice job and thanks for linking.

  13. I thought they were fantastic as soon as I saw them and you made them even more so!!

    Great job!

    Debbie

  14. You are right!! Those lamps are much better white!!

  15. Wow, you have such a good eye! I’ve spray painted lamps before, but I would have never believed that just spray paint alone could improve the daisy lamp so much. Impressive!

  16. Fabulous! It makes my heart sing when I find someone who sees things for waht they CAN be and not what they ARE. Love your lamps!!

  17. Hi Laurie…

    So nice of you to join in with the fun of Sunday Favorites, my friend! Welcome!

    Wow…I love these lamps! And you’re absolutely right…they have great “bones”! I love the pretty garland on the lamp! So frenchy! Hehe! Ohh…and the flower lamp is quite unique looking…I love it too! They look great in their new coat of white paint! Great treasure find and recovery! Thanks for sharing your project with us!!!

    Warmest autumn wishes,
    Chari @Happy To Design

  18. Oh I love them! Actually, I even liked the flower one before the paint makeover, but I’ve always wanted one like that since I was little. My Grandma had one, but there I just admitted my Grandma had one so painting it was a good thing! Modernizes both and I bet they are lovely on the end tables. Thank you for joining us at A Crafty Soiree! I hope you’ll come back next week and link up again!

  19. Why can’t guys see past the obvious? LOL “Great bones” plus spray paint equals stylish decor accents. We gals saw that equation with your first two photos. 😉

    Liz @ the Brambleberry Cottage
    http://thebrambleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

  20. They turned out GREAT!!! Thanks SO much for joining in on Thrilling Thursdays @ Paisley Passions. I hope to see you again this week 🙂
    ~Lori S.
    Thrilling Thursdays @Paisley Passions

  21. i actually liked the flower one “before” too but it’s even better after. thx so much for linking up to a crafty soiree last week!

  22. I love them! You are right the white is perfect.

  23. Just dropped by from First a Dream. Great tip love the chic look on things as changes are slow but, persistent.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

