Saying Goodbye

July 27, 2010 at 3:14 am | Posted in personal | 5 Comments
Tags:

We closed on our house last week and as excited as I was to move to our new house when it came time to turn in our keys I was sadder then I thought I would be. Our home was good to us and we made lots of great memories there.

When we first moved in the house it needed some help (that’s putting in mildly) it had been remodeled throughout the years but it was dated and the previous owners had gotten away from what the house originally looked like. I wanted to update the house but keep true to it being a house built in the 1930’s. Of course before doing that we had to do things like put a new roof on it, put in a new central air conditioner and install a hot water heater.

There of course were things we didn’t get to but I think with an older house there is always something to get to. I would of loved to paint the outside and install new windows and landscaped the side yard but the time had come to say good bye and start something new. I don’t think there is an inch of that house that I am not familiar with and when everything was packed up and the house was empty it was very bittersweet.

The new homeowners are a very nice young couple who I have no doubt will love the house as much as we do and will continue to make improvements on the home to keep it looking beautiful!

Here are the things I will miss the most about my old house.

The arch doorways throughout the house.

Real 100% wood doors.

The cork flooring everyone questioned when I put in but then quickly realized how cool it really was!

The crystal knobs in the bathroom.

The beautiful hardware on the doors.

The slate fireplace that was done last year after wanting it for 5 years!

The french doors that were put in as a gift to me last year after I came home from the hospital and of course the patio that it opened to!

I’ll probably miss this the most, it was the laundry chute that was in the bathroom on the main floor. Why did they stop doing this on new houses?

One of the first things I did to the bathroom was have this marble top installed. Marble is one of my favorite things, I love how it is always cool to the touch.

The Schoolhouse Electric light fixtures in the remodeled kitchen, it was a way to keep true to the time the house was built.

Subway tile! Seriously love this stuff, it doesn’t get more classic then this!

The tile in the bathroom. I remember when I ordered it from the flooring place the old man who helped me told me it was the ugly stuff they put in their bathroom back in the day, most people would of been offended but I took it as a compliment because that was the look I was going for, minus the ugly part, which by the way I think the tile is the opposite of ugly!

Lastly, the wood floor, it’s true what they say they don’t make things like they used to. I think if we would have stayed in this house I would have stained it a darker color but I did love this floor and it sure was durable!

It hasn’t quite sunk in that we don’t live there anymore but I think once we are a bit more settled into our new house I’ll be less sad about our old one.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m sure you are sad to leave it, I know what you mean šŸ™‚

    Laurie, where was your cork flooring? I would love to use this but doesn’t seem suitable for a kitchen. Did you have to ever re-seal yours? I love the look and feel of it.

  2. The cork flooring was actually in the kitchen and I bought it sealed. I kept it clean by using a damp (not wet) rag. The floor has held up great and it seems to be a product that looks better the older it gets if that makes sense. My favorite part of it was there is a give to it, making it softer then tile and it’s also warmer then tile too!

  3. I can see why you’ll miss it. I love all those same things, which is why Joe tries to give me all of those things where ever we move. The only archway I have is to the master shower though I would dearly love arched doorways all over the house. Every time we see a room with them he looks at me and says “I suppose you love this room.”

    • Your home is beautiful Maryann! Your ears must have been burning today, Sloan was talking about your secret bookcase and how she wished she had one!!

  4. […] July was a little bit sad and a lot happy, we officially moved into our new house but I did a fun posting on all the great things I’d miss about the old house. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

