Summer Reading

June 22, 2010 at 2:25 am | Posted in personal | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

One of my favorite things about summer is reading lots and lots of books and this summer is no exception! I’ve already read more then I usually do because we don’t have a television at our new house yet. (Don’t fret it hasn’t stopped me from watching Mad Men, Californication and Weeds!)

I thought I’d share with you what I have read and a few books that are on my Kindle’s Wish List. I’m telling you if you love to read buy yourself a Kindle or a Nook they are the best, books instantly, I mean what’s not to love!

The books are in no particular order & I promise not to reveal too much in case you want to read them.

1. Damaged by Cathy Glass.

This is a heartbreaking real story of a foster care giver who takes care of an 8 year old little girl who was sexually molested. This is obviously a deeper book then the usual light summertime reading I usually do but is a must read.

2. Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin

Emily Giffin is one of my favorite authors. She has a way of making you think is this right, is it wrong, can you still like a character even if you believe what they are doing is morally wrong? This book is about 2 families that come together through tragedy and makes you really think about right and wrong. My only complaint is I always finish her books in at least 2 sittings!

3. My Fair Lazy by Jen Lancaster

Jen Lancaster is hilarious and if you read her books and if you know me you’ll understand why I like them so much. She writes about her life and from her other books you’ll learn she grew up in Indiana, she went to Purdue and she always, always speaks her mind! Ummm… sound like someone you know???? This book is great and there are some laugh out loud moments for sure, which is the reason I like her books so much. I will say she’s not as much as a bitch as she has been in the past which is of course a disappointment (I love a girl to speak her mind) but I have found myself thinking I should expand my cultural horizons after reading this book.

4. The Divorce Party by Laura Dave

This book starts out a bit slow, but slowly sucks you in and has you talking out loud and saying, “Oh my God,” more then once! If you know anyone that has been through a divorce or even a break up, heck if you’ve ever been in a relationship you should read this book. I think there is something in this book that relates to everyone. It’s about a 35 year old marriage ending and another relationship just beginning. The book is so good that Jennifer Aniston is producing it, and personally I can’t wait to see it on the big screen!

Here are the books on my to be read list!

1. Husband and Wife by Leah Stewart

This is about a young mother who finds out her husband’s novel about infidelity might actually be real.

2. The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pehhanen

This is about sisterhood and the complications and bonds that go along with it.

3. Falling is Like This by Kate Rockland

This is pure summertime easy breezy reading about a tabloid writer who breaks up with her boyfriend and immediately falls in “love” with a punk rock super star. I know it’s like People magazine but a novel!

So I’d love to know what you are reading or what you are planning to read or what show you’re hooked on this summer! So let me know!!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

