Complimentary Color Scheme

May 5, 2010 at 4:39 am | Posted in color | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

Now that our house is clean we’re getting ready to patch the nail holes and tape the walls and begin painting some of the rooms. For the living room I’ve decided on a blue and orange color scheme.


(Decor Pad)

Blue and orange are complimentary colors which means they are directly opposite each other on the color wheel. The trick to doing this is not to use the 2 colors in the same quantities or intensity. I plan on using more blue and pops of orange.


(Decor Pad)

Light blue is associated with health, healing, tranquility, understanding, and softness.


(Lynette Perez)

Orange represents enthusiasm, fascination, happiness, creativity, determination, attraction, success, encouragement, and stimulation.


(Palmer Weiss)


(Palmer Weiss)

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It will look great when you are done. I want to decorate my bedroom in blue, brown/tan and orange. However, by the time we get to that room, I could change my mind. LOL

  2. love it! especially the Lynette Perez room

  3. Congrats on closing on your new house (finally)! By the way, we share the same anniversary! We just celebrated 10 years. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you sell your old house soon. By the way, I love orange and blue and have been thinking about that for my oldest girl’s room.

    • Happy Anniversary Jen! Congrats on your new house too, it’s super cute! I know it’s a rental but I can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  4. Love these images and this color combo!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

