My Grandmother’s Chair

April 22, 2010 at 1:15 am | Posted in resource | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

My grandmother was a great woman and I miss her very much. She was a hard worker, totally funny, a good cook, a devoted Cubs fan and was the glue that kept our family together. I don’t think I realized it until I got older but she didn’t spend alot of money on herself or her home and one of my memories of her was when I was a teenager and she decorated her living room, new carpeting, new paint, new furniture, it became the room we couldn’t breathe in!

When she passed away I was lucky enough to get her Louis the XVI chair.

This was extra special for me because it was a chair she saved up for and was very proud of. For a long time I decided not to recover it because of sentimental reasons but I also don’t use it in my house either (it’s in my basement and the fabric is seafoam green). I’ve finally decided the chair is ready for a makeover, so I went over to Ballard Design to see what I could come up with.

How about a cheetah print?

or domino chocolate?

or my beloved ikat?

then there is luisa…

or nomad…

this stella fabric is fun…

and last but not least there is venetian brown.

So tell me what you think, do you have a favorite?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Depending on where you are going to put it and if you are going to refinish the wood or not. I think she would smile on the cheetha or nomad print just to funky it up.

  2. Stella or Domino Chocolate reminds me of your personal style.

    • Yes they are for sure on the top of my list! You know me so well!

  3. Sarah and I vote for Domino Chocolate!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

