Choosing a Paint Color

March 10, 2010 at 3:15 am | Posted in paint, tween bedroom | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

Today, I am working on picking paint colors for my daughter Sloan’s new bedroom. If you remember she picked out her comforter a few weeks ago.

It’s easier to pick a paint color once your fabric is established so keep that in mind when you design your room.

Sloan’s room measures 15×14 so it’s a pretty good size room and something she’s pretty excited about.

Luckily, the carpet is neutral and is staying so I didn’t have to really take the color into account when picking out the paint color. The trim is white, also something I won’t be changing.

I have decided to go with Benjamin Moore paint for Sloan’s room.

I have picked out a cool monochromatic color scheme in blues.

Monochromatic means that the colors are based on one color family and uses variations of lightness and saturation to create an effect.

A cool color are typically “nature’s colors,” like the sea, grass or sky.

The color blue is calming, relaxing and soothing. They say people that favor blue maybe intellectual and creative. Blue is also very easy on the eyes and nerves and ideal for a bedroom.

I am going with an eggshell paint sheen which means its a low lustre or sheen, smooth and can be washed. This paint sheen is great for a living room, dining room or bedroom.

Sloan wants an accent wall so, for the wall that her bed will be on I picked Bahaman Sea Blue 2055-40. This is the darkest color I have picked. Darker shades reflect less light than lighter ones so a darker shade is more successful in smaller amounts.

For the other 3 walls I have chosen Serenity 2055-60.

I have also picked out a color for the ceiling, most people forget that your ceiling is essentially the 5th wall and they leave it white. Painting it a color gives the room a more cohesive look. The color I chose is Innocence 2055-70.

Once we are officially in the house I will go through the process of explaining how to prepare for painting and paint estimations.

Need help picking out a paint color?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Pretty colors, Sloan!

    I don’t know why, but I can’t bring myself to paint a ceiling a color other than white…maybe if I hold out long enough white ceilings will come back in!

  2. Love the cool blues color palate…perfect for a young girl’s room…with color names like “serenity” and “Innocense”…maybe you will be able to postpone the teen years 🙂

  3. […] working on Sloan’s bedroom in stages. You can check out my previous post about bedding and paint colors if you like. Today I am working on the lighting for her […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

