Nancy Lancaster

February 16, 2010 at 10:44 pm | Posted in quotes | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

I love quotes, I have been writing my favorites in my journal for years. I don’t know if you notice but I also put a weekly quote on my sidebar on Monday’s where I post a favorite quote of an interior designer.

I did not post one yesterday because I did a posting on my room being on Design Dazzle so I will pretend that today is Monday!

I thought I’d do a feature on Monday’s where I not only post a quote but post some of the designer’s rooms they have designed.

Today’s quote is from Nancy Lancaster…

“If every piece is perfect the room becomes a museum and lifeless.”

Nancy Lancaster was born September 9, 1897 and died August 19, 1994. She was born near Charlottesville, Virginia and was raised in Richmond and New York.


(Architectural Digest)

She lived a bit of a scandalous life, I mean she was married 3 times! I’m talking she’d totally be on the cover of People magazine with how her marriages unfolded.

I almost think of her as one of the original house flippers. She lived in grand estates and re-did the interiors. She really is responsible for creating the English Country look.


(Architectural Digest)

Mrs. Lancaster had no formal training (take that ASID) but her rooms are still famous. She was also an owner of Colefax & Fowler an influential British decorating firm.


(Lancaster’s famous yellow room, Interior Design)

She really is one of the best, I mean she was born in 1897 and her rooms completely transcend time.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, I’m so happy to learn about Nancy L. Thanks for posting. Yes, take that ASID! That yellow room is amazing.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

