Entomology As Art

February 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm | Posted in art | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Entomology is the study of insects. I am not a bug lover like most girls out there but I love entomology illustrations and artwork.

When I went to the Indianapolis Home Show a few weeks ago, I noticed some butterflies and insects scattered throughout the house.


(Blurry iphone sorry!)

I have been working on putting together an inspiration board for my new house and these two images below are on my board.


I have had this image in my file folder since 2007. It is from Molly Sim’s Soho apartment that Kishani Perera designed. Three years later and I love it just as much as when I first saw it.


I am always looking for clever ways to design going up a stairway and I love this idea too. This was designed by Nicole Hollis for the 2009 San Francisco showhouse.

I hope I don’t freak out too many people but I see bugs (not the living kind) in my new house’s future!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really like the idea of framing butterflies. Seems like a great way to highlight nature’s subtle beauty. Saw somewhere recently where a designer framed faux {butter}flies and the impact was just as chic, but a little more cheap.

    xoxo, Claire

    • I like the idea of faux butterflies way more then the idea of a real butterfly on my wall! Great tip!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

