The Color Blue

January 7, 2010 at 12:57 am | Posted in bedroom, color | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

My friends come to me from time to time to help them pick out a paint color for their rooms and I love it when they do. I’m fascinated with how a simple color can transform a room and make you feel a certain way.

My friend is decorating her daughters room and decided to go with the color blue which just so happens to be one of my favorite colors.

I know blue is a calming color to me and it’s actually the color that I’ve used in my own bedroom.

Researching the color blue I learned the following, blue is the color of the sky and sea. It is often associated with depth and stability. It symbolizes trust, loyalty, wisdom, confidence, intelligence, faith, truth, and heaven.

Blue is considered beneficial to the mind and body and is associated with health, healing, understanding and softness. It slows human metabolism and produces a calming effect. Blue is strongly associated with tranquility and calmness.

If its true and blue brings tranquility and calmness to the space I think my friend picked the perfect color, and I’d encourage all moms that have 2 girls that share a room to paint their rooms blue too!


(Photo from Martha Stewart)


(Photo from Martha Stewart)


(Photo from Apartment Therapy)


(Photo from Decor Pad)


(Photo from HGTV)

Need help picking out a color for a room? Email me at laurie@housetoyourhome.com I’d love to help you!

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Every room in my house in West Lafayette was painted with Martha Stewart paint colors – I love the seafoam green. I love all her paint colors. I need a house!

  2. I recently set up a home gym in our large spare bedroom. The walls are an off white vanilla. I could use some suggestions for paint colors. And we need your help hanging the last of the Ansel Adams prints (there are still 11 of them drat!!!) Most of which will go in the home gym I hope. I could use your eye for design on where to hang them (or input to discourage Garry from hanging them All, lest our home winds up being an Ansel Adams Art Gallery)

  3. Liz, Benjamin Moore’s Olive Branch would look great in your room, its one of Pottery Barn’s current paint colors. Its not exactly green but not exactly brown. Puts a little color on the wall but doesn’t take away from the black and white prints. I’m with you I think you go for it and put all the Ansel Adam prints in the home gym. It will make a bigger impact if they are all in one room and I think they should be hung more random rather than in a grid like form. I would be more then happy to help you guys hang ’em, just call give me a call and order a pizza!!

    • We have a long 3 day weekend coming up Jan 16th…let’s shoot for then if you are available

  4. Love, love, love blue! And I just eyed PB’s paint selection last week…love it.

  5. Love those Gothic windows and that giant oil painting (but wouldn’t that get damaged?) Pretty rooms!
    -Trish

  6. I’m free all January Liz. Ansel Adam party!

    • Yeah!! Garry is IN…lets shoot for Saturday then or Monday if that doesn’t work out!

  7. I’m really tempted to paint my bedroom a light blue. We painted it a soft gold color, but I’m just not happy with it. It’s got vaulted ceilings and was a huge pain to paint the first time, though, so we’ll see if I can talk my husband into getting out the ladders again… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

