Wearstler, Gold and Williams Visited me this Christmas

December 29, 2009 at 3:04 am | Posted in designers | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I hope everyone had a great Christmas and got lots of goodies and were able to spend time with friends and family. We had a great Christmas and I got some great stuff thanks to D! (Thanks to a posting or two!!)

My favorite gift was my kindle, seriously I like it more then I thought I would. What’s even better is my mom got me a gift certificate to Amazon so I’ve got lots of book reading in my future!

What the kindle isn’t good for though is reading my design books but luckily Drew bought me Hue by Kelly Wearstler (did I mention I love her?) and The Comfortable Home by Mitchell Gold and Bob Williams.

I’m not going to lie Kelly’s book is way out there and her designs are way over the top and I can’t see too many people having a room like the ones that are in her book. (Honestly the vibe is totally early ’80s!) The book provides lots of eye candy but middle America won’t be copying her rooms anytime soon. (Probably the reason I like her so much.) I do think the colors and materials she uses are incredible. Lots of red, fuschia, purple, gold, marble and stone that can be incorporated into the design of your home. The black and white floors that were in one too many photos didn’t do it for me though but who knows maybe in a couple months I’ll love it. (Kelly’s designs are always ahead of their time.) This book is more of a coffee table book then her last book, there is barely any text and mostly beautiful photos.

The Comfortable Home by Mitchell and Gold couldn’t be more different then Hue. This book could almost be considered an instructional book. There is lots of text, lots of advice but still lots of photos. Yes, they use their furniture but hello their stuff is amazing but you could easily use your furniture too and use the principals they are showing you. This is a great book for someone moving into their “big girl” home (meaning not their starter home and is looking to buy some investment pieces for their home.

My family had an incredible Christmas and I hope yours did too! I can’t help but wonder what was your best part of Christmas?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. sounds like someone had a great christmas!

  2. It was probably the best Christmas’s in a very long time! I hope yours was nice and you enjoyed your time with family!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

